George Craige Art Scam?
I just received an email from George Craige
gcraige108@yahoo.com and just assumed it was a scam (and am still 99.9% sure that it is), but how would he benefit by using a bank transfer for payment?
I understand that bank checks can be abused (see the previous
art scammers post), but I thought a money transfer would of been a bit safer. Perhaps I'm misunderstanding the "Telegraphic Bank Transfer" method that George is suggesting.
Have other artists been contacted by Mr Craige? Here's the email I received from him.. (and sorry George if you really did want to buy the paintings, which I really doubt!).
Good day to you,
I visited your site and I saw these fascinating artworks and I found some interest in :-
1. (man walking oil canvas board s: 25x40cm)
2. (fog over newcastle oil artists board s: 20x40cm)
3. (portrait of a girl (triptych) oil canvas board s: 25x20cm x 3 (25x60cm)
4. (newcastle view oil artists board s: 20x40cm)
5. (istanbul clouds (Kizkulesi) acrylic on canvas board s: 20x25cm)
So , I will like to buy them for our new house in United Kingdom.
I must say you really doing a great job, I have already contacted a shipping company that will be shipping them along with our other house decorations. Our shipping company will Pick-Up these items once i pay you .
I will be paying you via Telegraphic Bank Transfer (CommonWealth Bank), Please let me know your mind about this sales and tell the the price for each? I will be looking forward to your response on how to proceed.
Regards,
George Craige gcraige108@yahoo.com
There's also a list of art scammers online over at
artquest (I couldn't see George on the list).
>>
Art Scams,
Being an Artist